Books in 100: The Prime Ministers Who Never Were

Aren’t counterfactuals great? For somebody who has explored the countless different paths that British politics could have taken, The Prime Ministers Who Never Were is a dream.

Despite its brevity and simplicity, Francis Beckett edits an imaginative book penned by creative authors who delve into the fantasy premierships of Austen Chamberlain, Oswald Mosley, Neil Kinnock, John Smith (the most legendary of ‘what if’ PMs) and many more.

Writers offer condensed stories rather than dense texts that are surprisingly varied in style, with some adopting a more historical tone instead of a preferred casual one.

To top off this compact tome, a short foreword supplied by the late Denis Healey (himself included as a chapter) is joyfully apt.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: